Ohana….no one is left behind or forgotten.

Ever had something you loved so much…..and then were forced to give it away? I have. So would that technically count as a lost or forgotten item? I suppose it’ll go to the forgotten pile.

 

I was maybe 6 years old. I had a purple Barney Doll. And at 6 years old, this doll meant the world to me. I wasn’t into barbies. I wasn’t into Polly Pocket. I didn’t care about secret diaries. My inspiration was a fake mascot purple dinosaur that children perceive to be a child abduction toy in this century. Its a toy that no one remembers now. A show that is long forgotten. But at the age of 6….Barney was my toy. My one prized possession. My everything……sounds a bit like the Ring on the Lord of the Rings. 

My mother had a best friend. Who had a daughter. And this daughter died at a really young age…maybe the age that I am now. Possibly 22 or something along those lines. I never had the opportunity to meet this girl. And Im not exactly sure how she died. But my entire family went to the funeral. It was in a meadow. Not much was there. You had to cross a bridge to get to it. Not your typical cemetery might I say. And after the funeral, my mom told all of us that we had to leave one thing on the grave. Something that we loved. And of course, I had to bring my barney doll to this funeral. 

I bawled. Laid on the ground and cried. Barney was stripped from my hands. Placed on the grave. I didn’t understand it at the time. I was devastated. Heartbroken. Crushed. After we started walking back to the car, I ran and grabbed my barney doll. Tried to hide him. But my mother made me go back and leave him there. I cried all the way home. In the car. In my room. I never saw him again. 

I still remember this day very clearly. An item that I had long forgotten but still tucked away in my head. In my memory. In my heart. 

R.I.P Little Girl

R.I.P Barney

2 thoughts on “Ohana….no one is left behind or forgotten.

  1. it seems harsh to make a young child give up their barney but it obviously had an affect on you. you did a special thing. I am not sure I could have made my child do that but I suppose there is a a lesson in it. I enjoyed reading this.

Leave a Reply

