Welcome Mat. Please walk all over me :)

Are you a good judge of other people’s happiness? Tell us about a time you were spot on despite external hints to the contrary (or, alternatively, about a time you were dead wrong).

I can typically read the expressions of other people. If you are one of those people that hide your emotions, guess what….I can read you too. For some odd reason, I can read people like a book. Whether its open or not, I will be able to sense it. Its a 6th sense I have. That’s why I want to work as a Counselor or something along those lines. Ive always loved helping people. Students especially because they are the next generation.

So you want an example? Okay. Ill tell you just how I do it. I was an RA in an all freshmen residence dorm. I sensed something was wrong with a particular student. I mean, they didn’t say anything. They would just walk by, say hey and continue on their way. They would be in the hall sometime chatting it up but other than that, there was something else. One day I told them that I was free to talk anytime. About anything and everything. They gave me that you’re crazy look of course but eventually they showed up at my door.

That’s when this student told me they self harmed. In knowing this, more information kept coming along the way. Bits of information here and there. But getting them at their most vulnerable time…..in just sitting in silence, that’s when they want to tell you everything. I’m not a qualified counselor and I tried a million times to get this student help. But I always knew there was something more. Something not being said. It itched at me. It irked at me. It mocked at me every time. And there was really nothing I could do about it. But then I started hearing things like “I wish I wasn’t here. Itd be great if it all went away. Maybe I wont see you anymore” and that’s what frightened me most.

I had to tell someone right? And I did. No matter how much it hurt this student to have to go through this, I knew eventually that it would save her. That they might thank me one day for saving them.

I think somewhere deep down I was put on this planet to help people. To help animals. To help the poor and the needy. To help anything and everything. That is my purpose.

I don’t know. Sometimes I wish I didn’t have this 6th sense. Because it kills me every time I know I can do nothing about it. I stress constantly about other peoples lives which causes my life to be unhealthy in some ways. And in other ways, sometimes I think people take advantage of it. I’m literally a welcome mat that people walk all over. It sucks and I know I shouldn’t. But I don’t know how to be mean and say GET THE $%&* OUT. I just listen and pray miracles do really happen.

7 thoughts on “Welcome Mat. Please walk all over me :)

  1. Sounds to me like you are doing the right thing. As long as there are people out there that are ready and willing to help, people will seek you out. That is a wonderful thing and in the long run, you will be rewarded. Keep being you!

Leave a Reply

