Dear Bob

The thought of you moving away only brings a cascade of sadness to me. “Girl, can I tell you a terrible thing?” From the first day I met you, I knew that you were different and somewhere along this journey that Im taking as a college advisor I knew I would meet someone like you Bob. It seems we were connected by some strange force and Im not entirely sure what it is. But thing is Ive had the chance to see you progress through just one tiny little semester.

When I first met you, there was something missing but somehow I think you may have found it at our school. Maybe the people. Maybe the strict teachers or the kids on the swim team. Maybe it was living with the pops and the step mom. Your grades have changed. Your attitude has changed. It seems that this place that some people call prison may really be a sanctuary. It may not seem like it but you’ll see it sooner.

Im not one who makes motivational speeches or one for hugs. Not one for tears. But then again, I am. I just wanted to let you know that Im super proud of you for accomplishing what you have done so far. It may not seem like it a lot but it really is. I don’t know your whole past and I probably don’t know too much about what goes on in your personal life but I hope you rise up past whatever becomes an obstacle for you. I sincerely hope you find the better things in life and hope that positive vibes will bring you closer to what you want to achieve. You are more than what you think.

Always remember you have a little sister that is looking up to you Bob. Looking at you for each move that she may make. Let that be your eagle of guidance. Take risks in life but only risks that impact you in a positive and beneficial way. No yelling YOLO at things you do. Its not going to be easy. And life really only gets harder and the one thing that’ll always be there for you is your family. Your mom. Dad. Little sister. Your brother. And they may not seem like they are telling you the right thing but most of the time, they want what is best for you.

You are gonna do awesome at your old school and teach all of them kids there what you learned at FHS. Show them how to be a red ram and excel in your academics. Excel in soccer. Excel at being the individual you want to be and not what others tell you to be. Keep your head up bob. And yes, you still owe me a hot dog. Dont worry bout the 5 dolla’s. The good news is good enough for you to keep it.

You is smart. You is kind. You is important.

Leave a Reply

